Goodbye Inner Harbor.

Day 1: Baltimore, MD to Alexandria, VA
Total Mileage: 56 miles

I’m still in disbelief that the 4K has already begun after training and fundraising for more than 10 months. It all culminated to send-off weekend, which started off with a tribute dinner on Friday, 4K boot camp on Saturday, and send-off today. Every single morning before we start riding, we have a prayer circle and dedicate our ride days to those who are affected by cancer. As I said in my last post, I’m dedicating my ride to Jabie Escano, so I wanted to start off the 4K with a dedication to him. As tribute to those we dedicate days to, we write their names on our calves as a reminder as to why we fight for cancer.

IMG_1386

A special shout-out to all my family members and friends that came out to support me during send off at the Inner Harbor in Baltimore this morning. It really means a lot seeing familiar faces. Knowing that they’re here to support me encourages me to continue on and keep fighting for what I am passionate about.

IMG_1388IMG_1390

Today’s team name, Team Road Kill. Totally organic. We found two dead snakes, two dead turtles, remnants of a rabbit, and a couple unidentifiable ones. I rode with Caroline, Danny, Nick, and Erin (San Fran alum 2012). Chains were derailed, some people ate gravel, and we got lost at some point, but it’s only the first day and we learn from our mistakes.

IMG_1393And a HUGE thanks to the 4K alumni for drivingthe host vans, chalking out our route, driving the water van, finding food donations, and leading us to our host. Also big thanks to St. Mary’s Lyceum for hosting us for the night and providing meals for us.Oh, and thanks to Zac, Caiti, and Kat for getting us food and water donations from CVS.
IMG_1413

I’d like to introduce you all to Barry Sherry, my pedal pal. For those of you that don’t know what a pedal pal is, 4K riders are paired with anyone who has been given a cancer diagnosis any time in their life and both will keep in touch throughout the summer as pen pals. He’s been an instrumental part in making sure we didn’t get lost on our first day. Thanks for the FU Cancer sticker!

IMG_1400

And then you have Team San Fran 2013.

DCIM101GOPROWest is San Francisco.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Inner Harbor.

  1. Good luck Anthony! I really wanted to do this 😦

    I know you’re gonna have an awesome/memorable time! Safe travels!

Leave a Reply

